We need your help – please

Rob Frye – Exoplanet

astral spritis logo - white bubble text on red

On Exoplanet, Rob Frye generates an atmosphere in which drummers and improvisers orbit synthesizers, inhabiting a Goldilocks zone of electronic and biotic components. Some of the tracks were created spontaneously or composed of strict loops, but two of the arrangements are melodic adaptations of the song of Musician Wren. After working as a field biologist with the Institute for Bird Populations in California from 2012-2016, Frye began to slow down and transcribe birdsong, eventually developing a performative lecture called Hearing Hidden Melodies. "XC175020" and "XC222182" are not potential earth-like planets in another solar system, indeed they are individual birds recorded by Peter Boesman in the Amazon. This bird, known as Uirapuru in Brazil and La Flautista in Peru, reminds us of the mysterious sonic knowledge threatened on our very own home planet.
On this, his first album for Astral Spirits and his first as a leader, Rob played woodwinds and synthesizers and directed a specialized crew, recruiting Bitchin' Bajas (Drag City) bandmates Cooper Crain and Dan Quinlivan on engineering and electronics. Ben Lamar Gay's cornet (International Anthem) and Macie Stewart's violin (OHMME) pitch and roll, fueled by the dual propulsion of drummers Quin Kirchner (Astral Spirits) and Tommaso Moretti (Amalgam), while Nick Ciontea (brownshoesonly) consults on modular synthesizer. Like the Uirapuru, Edbrass Brasil (Sê-Lo!) also searches through fallen leaves in some of his own work, though for sound not insects. On "Innercosmos" we he hear his unconventional wind tubes, and on "XC222182" his voice calling as instruments gather, playing the bird's melody.


ROB FRYE - compositions, woodwinds, synthesizers
COOPER CRAIN - electric organ, synthesizers
DANIEL QUINLIVAN - synthesizer, electronics, wurlitzer
BEN LAMAR GAY - cornet and wurlitzer
TOMMASO MORETTI - drums (right channel)
QUIN KIRCHNER - drums (left channel)
MACIE STEWART - violin on tracks 2, 5, and 7
NICK CIONTEA - synthesizer on tracks 3 and 4
EDBRASS BRASIL - wind instruments and voice track 3 and 5

Recorded by Cooper Crain at Decade
Mixed by Cooper Crain
Mastered by Mikey Young
Cover Art by Matias Santa Maria
Layout by Dylan Marcus McConnell

Thanks to Uirapuru, Ted Parker, Peter Boesman, Emily Bax, Adam Wille, Martin Frye, Cristian Pinto, Will Faber, Tadeu Mascarenhas, Estúdio Casa das Máquinas, Nate Cross, Erik Rasmussen, NASA, University of Iowa Space Audio.

Availiable as a 320kps MP3 or 24bit FLAC

You may also like

31 Oct 2021 – 2PM

Robyn’s Rocket – MATINEE

£10 £8 Advance £6 MEMBERS

20 Dec 2021 – 7:30PM

The Furrow Collective (Rachel Newton / Lucy Farrell / Emily Portman / Alasdair Roberts)

£18 £16 Advance £12 MEMBERS