Ken Vandermark And Pandelis Karayorgis – FOREGROUND MUSIC

"Inspired and relaxed duo compositions between Chicago's Ken Vandermark on reeds and Pandelis Karayorgis on piano performing original compositions. Vandermark dedicates one work to Derek Bailey, and one to Misha Mengelberg. Beautifully balanced work that alternately relaxes and incites the listener."

"The pair had recorded once before in a 1999 trio with bassist Nate McBride. On Foreground Music they are found in the intimacy of a duo, sharing song-writing responsibilities. Vandermark wrote all new music for the collaboration and sticks to tenor saxophone and clarinet. The opportunity to hear him in subtle dialogue with a pianist is intriguing. None of the usual bombast is here and even Vandermark's pieces seem geared towards the understated." - All About Jazz.

Available as 320k MP3 or 16bit FLAC  


1. Lifgatowy 04:17
2. United Forces Of One 03:43
3. JCT [for Sal Mosca] 04:23
4. The Clincher 03:59
5. Dreamless [for Derek Bailey] 07:43
6. Betwixt 05:48
7. Title Without Year [for Josef Albers] 07:11
8. Of Two Minds 03:33
9.Absolute Camel [for Misha Megelberg] 05:44