We need your help – please

Monday 1 June 2015, 8pm

III人 + Наказание / Nakasanye + Paul Abbott (solo)

No Longer Available

Return to OTO for lll人 – the trio of Seymour Wright, Paul Abbott and Daichi Yoshikawa – alongside Yoshikawa's new trio Nakasanye (alongside Antonin Gerbal and Joel Grip) and a solo set from Paul Abbott.


Strange, intense and extreme lll人 is the trio of Daichi Yoshikawa, Paul Abbott and Seymour Wright. Together they have developed extraordinary sounds, and a complex, significant body of work since 2012.

lll人 has no obvious comparisons. The tools are familiar, but the listening is not. lll人 processes are complex, spikey, but open growths of future sound, testing extremes and perfectly reasonable.



наказание/NAKASANYE is “Punishment” in Russian language. 

“The group started from playing in Siberia, Kemerovo -26 degree Celsius 
We travel in search of the music, we meet people, speak things we do,What we like, what we hate, we eat, we read, we speak, we see, we sleep, everything is the materials of the work. freezing cold temperature outside in Siberia, frozen  Томь river  Punishment for us is the work. the moment of the work we share.”

Daichi Yoshikawa / feedback
Antonin Gerbal / drums
Joel Grip / double bass


Paul Abbott

Paul Abbott

Paul Abbott is an artist and musician based in London, working through questions and feelings connecting music and language: using real and imaginary drums, synthetic sounds, performance and writing.

His current collaborations include XT & lll人 with Seymour Wright and Daichi Yoshikawa, Falls with Keira Greene, ULAPAARC with Cara Tolmie and an ongoing project with Will Holder.  A series of solo performances in Cafe OTO’s project space are documented here. Recent releases include solo's Sphuzo, qno, & Vagus and Pah' (XT), and vjerhanxsk (lll人). He is one of the co-editor’s of Cesura//Acceso and was one of the Sound and Music “Embedded” resident artists at Cafe Oto 2015-2016.

In addition Abbott has collaborated and performed with numerous other artists and musicians, including: Benedict Drew, Pat Thomas, Ute Kanngiesser, Billy Steiger, Bill Orcutt, Danny Haywood, Joel Grip, Brandon La Belle, Eddie Prevost, Steve Noble, Sebastian Lexer, Evan Parker and Otomo Yoshihide.