"This trio, quite intuitively (because I never spelt out what I hoped would happen) works in a subtle, attentive way: examining what the music is and where it is going all within the process of playing; feeling the sound to be complementary and in contrast to other sounds; feeling the stuff of the instruments, and sensing the presence of other creative beings. This is part of the extraordinary and gloriously uncertain matrix of what making and listening to music should be about" - Eddie Prévost 


Tom Chant
/ soprano saxophone

John Edwards / double bass

Eddie Prévost / drums


Recorded at Gateway Studios, Kingston, on 9th March 1997 by Steve Lowe. Front Cover 'Childsplay' by Stella Cardew. 

Available as a 320k MP3 or 16bit FLAC download.   


1. Within an Inch - 9:33

2. An Ounce of Mothers' Wit - 6:03

3. By Your Own Yard - 10:07

4. Cheeks of Sorry Grain - 13:31

5. Set a New Nap Upon It - 8:35

6. The Weight of Evidence - 11:03

7. Grits Beneath The Tread - 11:51

John Edwards

John Edwards is a true virtuoso whose staggering range of techniques and boundless musical imagination have redefined the possibility of the double bass and dramatically expanded its role, whether playing solo or with others. Perpetually in demand, he has played with Evan Parker, Sunny Murray, Derek Bailey, Joe McPhee, Lol Coxhill, Peter Brötzmann, Mulatu Astatke and many others.

"I think John Edwards is absolutely remarkable: there’s never been anything like him before, anywhere in jazz." - Richard Williams, The Blue Moment

Eddie Prévost

Eddie Prévost began his life in music as a jazz drummer. A recurring interest in this form has been maintained, although always with an experimental ethos. Along the way he has maintained his fifty-year plus experimental credentials with AMM and numerous other improvisation projects, including his now twenty-year long weekly workshop. But drumming has generally been backgrounded to his experimental percussion work. More though, is to be expected of his drumming in 2020 on forthcoming multi-CD album: The Unexpected Alchemy. A part of this Krakow festival recording features the drums and saxophone trio of Ken Vandermark, Hamid Drake, and Eddie Prévost. His most recent released recordings include AMM’s: An Unintended Legacy, and a duo with John Butcher - Visionary Fantasies, both on Matchless Recordings. Also, a solo percussion LP on the Earshots label called Matching Mix. Later, in 2020 he meets with Jason Yarde and Nathan Moore, while in March concerts and recording will hear him drumming with US guitarist Henry Kaiser and saxophonist Binker Golding.

And, early 2020 should see the publication of his fourth book: An Uncommon Music for the Common Man: a polemical memoir.

“Prévost's free drumming flows superbly making use of his formidable technique. It’s as though there has never been an Elvin Jones or Max Roach.” - Melody Maker

“Relentlessly innovative yet full of swing and fire.” – Morning Star