Dorothy Ashby – The Jazz Harpist

This is Dorothy Ashby's debut album, originally released in 1957 by the Regent label. Recognized as the woman who gave the harp a Jazz Voice, here Ashby is at the head of a highly distinctive combo featuring Frank Wess on flute, Eddie Jones or Wendell Marshall on bass and master Ed Thigpen on drums. The Jazz Harpist is an unprecedented mix of evocative classic sounds and jazz soul, awarded by Allmusic as her first and best album, period!



"Thou Swell" (Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers) - 4:02
"Stella by Starlight" (Ned Washington, Victor Young) - 3:09
"Dancing on the Ceiling" (Hart, Rodgers) - 7:31
"Aeolian Groove" - 4:16
"Quietude" - 2:52
"Spicy" - 3:41
"Lamentation" - 4:03


Snowing Records, 2021