We need your help – please

Monday 8 May 2017, 7.30pm

Toshimaru Nakamura / Martin Taxt (duo) + Axel Dörner / Ramon Prats (duo)

No Longer Available

Toshimaru Nakamura / mixing board
Martin Taxt / amplified microtonal tuba

Nakamura and Taxt are releasing their second duo album on the Japanese label Ftarri this spring. Their first album "Pan on Fire" was released on Monotype Records in 2015. The raw and brutal character of the music surprised many listeners as both artists have strong connections to the softer side of electro acoustic music. On their second album, entitled Listening to the footsteps of living ones who are still on the ground they take it up another step. Partly even more harsh, but also with more depth and dynamics to it. The album consists of three live recordings from their spring tour in Japan in 2016, each track reflecting the atmosphere of the different rooms in Kagoshima, Osaka and Okinawa. Since releasing the album "Pan on Fire" on Monotype Records in October 2015, they've played shows in Germany, Switzerland, Norway and Japan.

“It’s great to see Toshi getting stuck in to some juicy, blocky noise lately(...)True to form, Pan On Fire is anything but minimal, but is a loud and busy record with no space left unfilled by scorching blasts of completely abstract racket powered and fuelled by 115 volts of Edison’s finest juice.” – The Sound Projector

Axel Dörner

German trumpeter Axel Dörner has a unique style of playing based on unusual, often self-invented techniques that make use of breath and microscopic sounds as much as conventional note-playing - but that didn't stop him winning the prestigious SWR Jazz Prize in 2006.One Final Note has described him as “one of the most interesting improvisers in the world, an instrumentalist of prodigious technique, deep sensitivity, and a creativity that continues to grow with each release.” 


Ramon Prats

Ramon Prats is a drummer who ahs worked with: Lee Konitz, Axel Dörner, Agustí Fernández, Mats Gustafsson, Joe Morris, Albert Cirera, Jorrit Dijkstra, Andy Moor, Carlos Zingaro, David Murray, Seamus Blake, Dave Kikoski, Roman Filiu, Esperanza Spalding, Guillermo Klein, Bob Mintzer, Greg Ward, Perico Sambeat, Martirio, Jorge Rossy, Dayna Stephens, Roberta Gambarini, Deborah Carter, Eric Alexander, Bill McHenry…

In 2014 he was awarded as a musician of the year, record of the year (for Pandora) and group of the year (for Ramon Prats Quartet) for the AMJM (Catalan jazz association)
In 2012 he was awarded as a group of the year for DUOT (for the AMJM Catalan jazz association)