Tuesday 13 March 2018, 7.30pm

Masami Kawaguchi + GUO

No Longer Available

“Kawaguchi Masami's machine gun guitar, which stutters in a polyglot tongue drawing equally from Rory Gallagher, Jerry Garcia and Lou Reed.” – The Wire

One of the greats of modern Japanese psychedelic rock, Masami Kawaguchi has been an influential figure in the Japanese underground scene for two decades. Known for bands such Miminokoto, LSD-March, Broomdusters, Los Doroncos and more recently with his New Rock Syndicate, heʼs also a regular Keiji Hainoʼs collaborator in Aihiyo and more recently in Hardy Soul.

Masami Kawaguchi

In early 90's, Kawaguchi formed the band called Broom Dusters and started his music career in Tokyo underground music scene. He joined Haino Keiji's Aihiyo as a bassist in 1998. He formed the band called Miminokoto with Shimura Koji (ex. Acid Mothers Temple) and Nishimura Takuya iin 2000. He left Miminokoto and formed Kawaguchi Masami's New Rock Syndicate in 2006. Recently he plays with his band New Rock Syndicate, Haino Keiji’s The Hardy Rocks and also plays as solo and collaborates with many musicians including Penny Ikinger, Deniz Tek(Radio Birdman), Anla Courtis (Argentina), Mason Jones (US), Yohei Hasegawa(Korea) and more, from garage rock to free improvisation. 

HP: http://www6.plala.or.jp/Purifiva/index.html

Twitter: https://twitter.com/kawaguchimasami

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kawaguchimasami



'Glorious slabs of noise’ - Victor Schonfield

‘Untamed beauty’ - Walton Ford

GUO is the duo of guitarist and singer Daniel Blumberg (Hebronix, The Howling Hex) and saxophonist Seymour Wright. Both use heavy distortion and extreme amplification which is later processed and manipulated with metal cassettes to create a multi-layered, lacquered object of sinister, fizzing, metallic beauty. GUO1 with text by David Toop, was the beginning of an on-going series of releases that include etchings made by the duo and a piece of ekphrasis from a creative writer responding to the music. GUO2 (released on OTOroku) included text from the American filmmaker Brady Corbet.