Sunday 28 June 2015, 8pm

Photo by Anton Lukoszevieze

Cikada perform Laurence Crane

No Longer Available

Great Norwegian ensemble Cikada perform works from the acclaimed composer Laurence Crane as a launch night for their new CD on the Lawo Classics label.

“I use simple and basic musical objects; common chords and intervals, arpeggios, drones, cadences, fragments of scales and melodies. The materials may seem familiar – perhaps even rather ordinary – but my aim is to find a fresh beauty in these objects by placing them in new structural and formal contexts and by using a surface texture that is highly reduced.” – Laurence Crane, 2013


- Simon Holt (2007) for piano, violin & cello
- Sparling (1992) for clarinet & piano
- Riis (1996) for clarinet, cello and electric organ
- Four Miniatures (2003) for flute, violin, percussion & piano
- Come back to the old specimen cabinet John Vigani, John Vigani part 1 (2007) for clarinet, percussion & pre-recorded drone
- Erki Nool (1999) for flute & piano
- Trio (1996) for bass flute, clarinet in A & piano
- Estonia (2001) for alto flute / bass flute, clarinet, violin & cello 

Laurence Crane

Laurence Crane lives and works in London, and his music has regularly been broadcast, recorded and performed across the world.

His output consists mainly of music written for the concert hall, although his list of works also includes pieces written for film, radio, theatre, dance and installation. He is particularly closely associated with the British ensemble Apartment House, who have to date given around forty performances of his works.

‘In Laurence Crane's music the material chosen is familiar; mostly consonant, often tonal, triads, elementary chords, old well-used intervals rescued from a previous unjust ignorant redundancy. The familiar sound or image is abstracted by being placed in a new, clean and often isolated context, like a museum glass case. Its innate value is respected by it remaining alone, unornamented and unaffected during the course of the piece by any development or transformation; the image staying as and where it is by being gently reiterated or prolonged so that it holds our full attention.'- Tim Parkinson


Since its 1989 formation in Oslo, the Cikada ensemble has developed a refined and highly acclaimed profile on the international contemporary music scene. From the very beginning, Cikada has consisted of flute, clarinet, piano, percussion, string quintet and conductor Christian Eggen. All ten are equal, permanent members, and the ensemble has become synonymous with the Oslo Sound of fresh, vibrant, warm and virtuosic interpretations of consciously selected, contemporary repertoire.

In concerts at major international festivals and on numerous albums, Cikada’s distinct ensemble profile manifests itself in strong programming. Integral to this work is a wish to develop longterm collaborations with composers and to build composer portraits with commissioned works over time.

The nine musicians also form various formations within the group: Cikada String Quartet and Cikada Trio work as independent Cikada units, adding to the ensemble’s international identity. Cikada was awarded the prestigious Nordic Music Prize in 2005.

You may also like

17 Aug 2022 – 8PM


£14 £12 Advance £7 MEMBERS

18 Aug 2022 – 8PM

Rizan Said + Anadol (DJ)

£16 £14 Advance £8 MEMBERS

19 Aug 2022 – 7PM

Robyn's Rocket DJ night with Mica Levi + Heart N Soul DJs

£10 £8 Advance £6 MEMBERS

20 Aug 2022 – 8PM

Super Off-Peak Return – w/ Arianne Churchman + Bredbeddle + Jem Finer + Plastique Fantastique

£10 £8 Advance £5 MEMBERS