Thursday 24 May 2018, 7.30pm

The Hermes Experiment

No Longer Available

The Hermes Experiment presents a new project in collaboration with composers Mira Calix and Alex Mills. The composers' two new works written for the ensemble will respond to the improvisatory and unusually notated music of John Cage, and his student Christian Wolff. Following a collaborative process between the ensemble and the composers, the commissions will focus on maximising the potential of the group's unique sound world through innovative notation.

Oliver Pashley / clarinet
Marianne Schofield / double bass
Anne Denholm / harp
Héloïse Werner / soprano

This concert is generously supported by the RVW Trust and PRS for Music Foundation.


- New commissions by Alex Mills and Mira Calix
- Graphic score by Eloise Gynn
- Christian Wolff, Six Nocturnes
- John Cage, In a Landscape
- John Cage, Composition for 3 Voices
- John Cage, Four6

The Hermes Experiment

Winners of the Tunnell Trust Awards 2016, Park Lane Group Young Artists 2015/16 and winners of Nonclassical's Battle of the Bands 2014, The Hermes Experiment is a contemporary quartet made up of harp, clarinet, soprano and double bass. Capitalising on their deliberately idiosyncratic combination of instruments, the ensemble regularly commissions new works, as well as creating their own innovative arrangements and venturing into live free improvisation. So far, the ensemble has commissioned over 40 composers at various stages of their careers. The group's recent highlights have included tours to Russia and Estonia, as well as debuts at Kings Place and the Southbank Centre.
"The performance was meticulously nuanced, witty and chic" The Times ****
"This clever mix of instruments is more versatile than you might first think" The Observer ****

Mira Calix

Mira Calix is an award winning artist, composer and performer based in the United Kingdom. Music and sound have always been at the centre of her practice, which she continues to integrate with visual media and technological innovation to create multidisciplinary installations and performance works. Mira has been commissioned by many leading international cultural institutions, festivals and ensembles including the London Sinfonietta, the Royal Shakespeare Company, the Aldeburgh Festival, the Melbourne Recital Centre, Performa, Institute of Contemporary Art, Garage MCA, National Portrait Gallery, the Manchester International Festival and The Mayor Of London among others.

Alex Mills

Alex Mills studied music at the University of Cambridge and is now based in London and continues to study composition with Raymond Yiu. His piece Suspensions & Solutions for Viola da Gamba and electronics, was premiered by Liam Byrne at The Barbican in April 2017. Alex’s music has also been performed at a variety of venues and festivals, including Sónar Barcelona, Mona Bismarck American Center Paris and The Kilkenny Music Festival. As well as his own projects, he is also assisting composer Nico Muhly on his new opera, Marnie, for the ENO and the Metropolitan Opera, New York.