Sunday 29 September 2019, 6pm

XWORM – The Tapeworm x Cafe OTO w/ Laura Agnusdei + Stefan Goldmann + Jay Glass Dubs + Philip Jeck x Jana Winderen + Marta de Pascalis + Simon Fisher Turner + Zerocrop

No Longer Available

On Sunday 29 September, The Tapeworm celebrates its tenth birthday at Cafe OTO — Jay Glass Dubs plays live, with a new tape on sale too. Philip Jeck and Jana Winderen will perform as a duo for the first time ever. Splendid saxophonist Laura Agnusdei premieres her forthcoming album on The Wormhole, ‘Laurisilva’. Marta de Pascalis will blow your mind, while Stefan Goldmann is gonna go all acousmatic. Simon Fisher Turner is playing piano and life­ sounds. The interim minstrel will be Zerocrop.

Laura Agnusdei

Laura Agnusdei is an electroacoustic composer and saxophone player from Bologna. Classically trained, she also holds a Master in electronic music composition by The Institute of Sonology of The Hague. She is also the saxophonist of Italian cult psych-rock band Julie's Haircut. Since 2016 she has been performed in many venues and festivals such as Rewire, EYE Filmmuseum, Reform Act, Macao and Ipercorpo and played as opening act for artists such Colin Stetson and Jenny Hval. Her compositions feature the saxophone as the main voice within sonic landscapes that shift between melodies and textures, song form and improvisation, fusing acoustic, digital and analogue sound sources to create emotional states that change from track to track. ‘Night/Lights’, an EP composed of four pieces of soulful electroacoustic music, was her solo debut cassette released in September 2017 on The Tapeworm. Tonight at Cafe OTO she will be premiering her debut album ‘Laurisilva’, to be released by The Wormhole later this year and first available on sale at the show.

Stefan Goldmann

Changing techno from within, Stefan Goldmann has developed his uniquely own approach to creating adventurous electronic music. His works range from poll-winning techno tracks to large scale compositions for ensembles, film and ballet, yet ultimately all are derived from the core formal traits of techno: grid, loop, sample, edit, track. Unified by an evolutionary approach to creating new variants within techno, seemingly disparate outings thus form a cohesive, nearly hermetic body of work: What are the inner workings of electronic music? Which formal devices can be extracted from techno and re-applied to wider contexts? Goldmann performs worldwide in clubs and at festivals, including SXSW, Mutek Montreal, Time Warp and Club To Club. He received major commissions from MaerzMusik Festival and the Radialsystem cultural centre in Berlin, the BASF cultural program, the Nationaltheater in Mannheim and Only Connect Festival in Oslo. For the LACMA museum in Los Angeles, Kyoto's Honen-In Temple and the CCK centre in Buenos Aires he developed site-specific performances. He has been DJing at Berlin’s Berghain since 2006, conceived the Elektroakustischer Salon events and writes a column for the club’s monthly flyer programme. Stefan Goldmann is a co-founder of the Macro record label, curates Berlin’s f(t) festival and has published the book ‘PRESETS – Digital Shortcuts to Sound’ (The Bookworm). For 2020 he has been appointed curator of the Berlin Philharmonic’s Strom Festival.

Jay Glass Dubs

Dimitris Papadatos is a composer, musician and sound artist based in Athens, Greece. The main concern in his work is an apposition of disparate elements that assume a re-appropriation of historically applied methodologies while questioning forms of empowering them. The biggest body of his work reflects issues as copyright, spirituality and originality, undergoing a constant state of transfiguration of its outsourcing. His project, Jay Glass Dubs, is an exercise of style focusing on a counter-factual historical approach of dub music, stripped down to its basic drum/bass/vox/effects form. His work has been presented in various international institutions and festivals from Berlin Atonal, Meakusma Festival, documenta14 and Transmediale while he has performed in venues and spaces such as Macao in Milan, Portikus in Frankfurt, Kraftwerk, HkW in Berlin, Cafe OTO and Corsica Studios in London to name a few.

Philip Jeck x Jana Winderen

Philip Jeck studied visual arts at Dartington College of Arts in the 1970’s and has been creating sound with record-players since the early 80’s. He has worked with many dance and theatre companies and played with musicians/composers such as Jah Wobble, Steve Lacy, Gavin Bryars, Jaki Liebezeit, David Sylvian, Sidsel Endresen and Bernhard Lang. Jana Winderen is an artist educated in Fine Art at Goldsmiths, University of London with a background in mathematics, chemistry and fish ecology from the University of Oslo. Jana focuses her work around audio environments and ecosystems which are hard for humans to access, both physically and aurally. Tonight at Cafe OTO they will perform as a duo for the first time ever.

Marta De Pascalis

Marta De Pascalis is an Italian composer living and working in Berlin. Her solo works employ analogue synthesis and tape loops, incorporating free playing into steady, repetitive patterns. She has produced two albums of Berlin School minimal synth excursions: the self-released ‘Quitratue’ (2014) and ‘Anzar’ (The Tapeworm, 2016). Her latest piece ‘Her Core’ was published in spring 2018 by The Wormhole. Marta creates densely layered collages of glowing melodic shards and growling bass lines, her hypnotic minimal synth figures warping and whirling around each other before dissolving into entropic oblivion. For her compositions she uses improvisation on a tape-loop system, in which patterns of repetition create a sense of a dense, dynamic and cathartic distance.

Simon Fisher Turner

Simon Fisher Turner is renowned for his film soundtrack work which began in collaboration with Derek Jarman, for whom he scored many feature films, from Caravaggio (1986) through to Jarman’s final work Blue (1993). Caravaggio began a long relationship with the BFI, with Fisher Turner composing the score for restorations of three silent films, Un Chant D’Amour (dir. Jean Genet, 1950), The Great White Silence (dir. Herbert Ponting, 1924), and The Epic of Everest (dir. Captain John Noel, 1924), for which he won a prestigious Ivor Novello Award. His most recent work, A Quiet Corner in Time (2020), is a collaboration with the ceramist and author Edmund de Waal.


Zerocrop is the pseudonym of London based musician Parker, an independent artist who has been releasing albums through his website since 2000. The music is hypnotic mix of complex vocal melodies and spoken word sequences on unsettling themes, set against a rich backwash of pedal steel, guitars and electronics. Zerocrop has remixed, written songs for and performed with the incomparable Billie Ray Martin and regularly creates the show music for award winning milliner Justin Smith.