Juliet Fraser – My Adventures With The TC Helicon Voicelive 3

Experimental vocalist Juliet Fraser shares her lock-down adventures on the 'TC Helicon VoiceLive 3'; twenty-two tracks of loops, refrains and laments fizzing with creative energy.

"The TC Helicon VoiceLive 3 and I first worked together back in 2015, on a piece for voice and ensemble that took advantage of my many-buttoned collaborator’s ability to transform my voice in real time. Though the experience of frantically trying to press the right button at the right time whilst singing quite complicated notes wasn't altogether easy, I was left with a lot of curiosity for what this machine could do. I felt our adventures had only just begun. Fast-forward to March 2020: I decided to take the plunge, to order my own and make this reunion a lockdown project that might save morale and sanity. What's documented here are my little experiments, recorded over a 6-week period as I got to know the beast, fiddling around with the several hundred preset vocal effects, the manifold possibilities of individual effects (such as harmony and hardtune) and the loop function. Each track was made very fast, with no time for critical reflection." - Juliet Fraser

1 - My very first loop [00:32]
2 - Wayfaring Stranger (short) [00:37]
3 - loop 2 (wallace stevens) [01:52]
4 - loop 3 (alvin's choir) [01:31]
5 - loop 4 (running on empty) [01:03]
6 - loop 5 (favourite things) [01:53]
7 - loop 6 (hardtune) [01:17]
8 - loop 7 (massive synth & hardtune) [01:34]
9 - Saturday For Max [01:15]
10 - Slow Wayfaring Stranger (for Katie) [04:18]
11 - loop 8 (gambinoish) [02:17]
12 - loop 9 (arpeggios for Shlom) [01:38]
13 - Boogie for Esther [01:48]
14 - loop 10 (straussian haze) [02:35]
15 - loop 11 (more wallace) [04:10]
16 - loop 12 (dai-oh) [01:57]
17 - loop 13 (chop saw) [02:17]
18 - barbecues & birdsong [03:19]
19 - loop 14 (la la la) [01:15]
20 - loop 15 (hallelujah) [01:25]
21 - Suffolk Air, part 1 - down in the valley [01:20]
22 - Suffolk Air, part 2 - a most impertinent bird [02:16]

Juliet Fraser

Soprano Juliet Fraser has a repertoire dominated by the very old and the very new. She regularly appearsas a guest soloist with contemporary music ensembles Musikfabrik, Klangforum Wien, Ensemble Modern, Plus-Minus and Talea, and has ongoing partnerships with Quatuor Bozzini and pianist Mark Knoop. She is also a core member of EXAUDI vocal ensemble, which she co-founded with composer/conductor James Weeks. Juliet is an active commissioner of new music and has worked particularly closely with composers Cassandra Miller, Matthew Shlomowitz, Michael Finnissy, Pascale Criton and Rebecca Saunders. She now has an extensive solo discography: her debut disc wasof Morton Feldman’s Three Voices (released on Hat Hut) and her most recent is an album of solo works written for her by Lisa Illean, Sivan Eldar, Nomi Epstein and Lawrence Dunn (released in April 2020 on HCR). Her early music recordings include Renaissance polyphony by Lassus, Vitoria and Byrd with Collegium Vocale Gent and Gesualdo madrigals with EXAUDI. She is the founder and artistic director of the eavesdropping series in London, and co-director with Newton Armstrong and Mark Knoop of all that dust, a new label for new music. 


You may also like

7 Jun 2022 – 8PM


£12 £10 Advance £6 MEMBERS

26 Jul 2022 – 8PM

Safa + Mariam Rezaei & Alya Al-Sultani + Yamen Mekdad

£14 £12 Advance £7 MEMBERS