We need your help – please

Valentina Magaletti – A Queer Anthology of Drums

Switch that light off.
Switch that light off.
Still the night appears in her relentless bright stupor.

A collection of unsung sleepless nights. A percussive collage of low-fi frequencies documenting a journey that never took place.

Il silenzio non arriva
Il conto è salato
Il sole riscalda i fallimenti
Niente ma tutto è cambiato


Valentina Magaletti played and assembled percussion, drums, field recordings, vibraphone, toys, and oscillators.


Produced and edited by Leon Marks. Special thanks to: Tom Relleen, Marta Salogni, Evelena Ruether, and João Pais Felipe for the love and support. Cover design by Oliver Barrett.

1 - The Unity of the Mind (03:08)
2 - A Queer Anthology of the Drums (03:18)
3 - Words i First Saw (02:50)
4 - Rumours of Bread (01:19)
5 - Body in a Room (05:15)
6 - Per Strada (02:10)
7 - The Other Side of Everything (03:10)
8 - Tutti Alcirco! (02:11)

Valentina Magaletti

Valentina Magaletti is a drummer, percussionist and composer whose goal is to strategically enrich a folkloristic and eclectic palette through endless listening and experimentation with new materials and sounds. She has performed and co-written with many artists including Nicolas Jaar, Jandek, Helm, Raime,Moin, HOly Tongue,Czn Malcom Catto, Charles Hayward, Graham Lewis (Wire, Dome), Tightpaul Sandra (Coil, Spiritualized, Julian Cope), Thurston Moore, Bat for Lashes, Gruff Rhys (Super Furry Animals), and many more. In her current project, Vanishing Twin she has a more conventional jazz approach that finds its escape in the drone/field recordings of the percussive narrative in other  experimental/avant-garde productions. Valentina was born in Bari, Italy, and lives in London.