Rachel Musson & Corey Mwamba – What We Said When We Met

A gorgeous and dexterous saxophone and vibraphone dialogue between two key players in the UK free jazz/improvisation scene.

"We conducted this session over a Zoom meeting and recorded ourselves seperately and then mixed the tracks together. Corey and I had a duo project between 2013-2019 when Corey decided to retire from public performance and choosing instead to focus on recording, radio and academic pursuits. We used to play once a year at the London Jazz Festival, and had an 8 date tour by train (not easy with a vibraphone!) in Germany in February 2015. Suddenly, in lockdown, we had both been plunged into the same form of 'retirement', so took this opportunity to reconnect online. Despite fears around latency and it not feeling the same, it felt pretty close to 'old times'!" - Rachel Musson

Rachel Musson - saxophone
Corey Mwamba - vibraphone
Artwork picture by Rachel Musson

Artwork design by Oliver Barrett

1 - [11:36]
2 - [08:09]
3 - [09:22]
4 - [08:00]

Rachel Musson

Rachel Musson is a saxophonist, improviser and composer living in London, UK. She is involved with a variety of improvisation projects, and works regularly with Mark Sanders, Pat Thomas, Hannah Marshall, Julie Kjaer, Corey Mwamba, Olie Brice, Alex Ward, Alex Hawkins amongst others. She features on several releases, including a nonet featuring her composition 'I Went This Way' (577 Records), two with Shifa, feat. Pat Thomas and Mark Sanders, (577 Records), one with Mark Sanders and John Edwards (Two Rivers Records), trio with Liam Noble and Mark Sanders (Babel), and Corey Mwamba (Takuroku).

"A free-improviser sensitive to melody-like narrative and dramatic pacing" – John Fordham, The Guardian

Corey Mwamba

Derby based vibraphonist Corey Mwamba has been steadily gaining appreciative recognition in jazz and contemporary music for a number of year now. His main group is the trio Yana with Dave Kane and Joshua Blackmore. He also performs with Martin Archer, Rachael Musson, Ntshuks Bonga, Robert Mitchell, Jason Yarde, Nick Malcolm, Orphy Robinson and is a member of the Nat Birchall Quintet.