Anton Lukoszevieze – WORD ORIGINS

"Word Origins consists of improvisations recorded in my house during the current lockdown. Each one was recorded at around 17.00-18.00 pm. I allowed myself to just get my cello, sit, start the record button and play, just once, each day. I wanted to make concise, stream of consciousness music, in some ways it relates to a lot of the paintings I have been making recently, but also the poetry I have been reading. The titles of each track are taken from words in The Sonnets by American poet Ted Berrigan, which were written in the 60’s and constructed by chance operations." - Anton Lukoszevieze


All music by Anton Lukoszevieze. Recorded by Anton Lukoszevieze.

Artwork by Oliver Barrett.

  1. Of Polytonic Breezes Gathering (02:40)
  2. No Comforts Drift (04:05)
  3. The Sleeping Fragments of the Sky (04:11)
  4. Discuss the Code of the West (04:18)
  5. Each Tree is Introspection (03:10)
  6. Everything Turning in this Light to Stones (04:53)
  7. The Logic of Grammar is Genuine (02:27)
  8. Vast Orange Libraries of Dreams (03:08)
  9. To a Birdless Place (06:38)
  10. Slow Going Down of the Morning Land (04:53)
  11. Word Origins (03:28)

Anton Lukoszevieze

Cellist and inter-disciplinary artist Anton Lukoszevieze is one of the most diverse performers of his generation and is notable for his performances of avant-garde, experimental and improvised music. Anton has given many performances at numerous international festivals throughout Europe and the USA (Maerzmusik, Donaueschingen, Wien Modern, GAS, Transart, Ultima, Issue Project Space, NYC) and BBC Radio 3. Deutschlandfunk, Berlin produced a radio portrait of him in September, 2003. Anton has also performed concerti with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra at the 2001 Aldeburgh festival, the Netherlands Radio Symphony Orchestra and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, as well as performances with contemporary vocal ensemble Exaudi and King’s College Choir, Cambridge. He is notable for his use of the curved bow (BACH-Bogen), which he is using to develop new repertoire for the cello. From 2005-7 he was New Music Fellow at King’s College, Cambridge and Kettle’s Yard Gallery. Anton is the subject of several films by the renowned artist-filmmaker Jayne Parker. From 2003-14 he was a member of Zeitkratzer and in 2008 made his contemporary dance debut with the Vincent Dance Company in Broken Chords, Dusseldorf in 2008.

Anton has premiered and commissioned new works for cello by a multitude of contemporary composers, including Christopher Fox, Gerhard Staebler, Amnon Wolman, Kunsu Shim, Laurence Crane, Richard Ayres, Phill Niblock, Sven Lyder Karhs, Jennifer Walshe, Claudia Molitor, Rytis Mazulis, Arturas Bumsteinas, Ricardis Kabelis, Juste Janulyte, Richard Emsley, James Saunders, John Lely, Tim Parkinson, Alwynne Pritchard, Peter Eotvos, Egidija Medeksaite, Joseph Kudirka, Benedict Drewe, Bryn Harrison, Joseph Kuirdka, Mathew Adkins. Karkheinz Essl, Simon Waters, Zbigniew Karkowski and Reinhold Friedl.

He is the founder and director of the group Apartment House.