APARTMENT HOUSE perform Harley Gaber's The Winds Rise in The North for amplified string quintet

The Winds Rise in the North

The Winds Rise in The North - String Quartet, first copy

Sunday 13 July 2014

Really pleased to have been able to reschedule this concert for this new date!


Door Times : 8pm

Tickets : £8 adv / £10 on the door



Ruth Ehrlich / violin
Alexandra Reid / violin
Angharad Davies / violin
Bridget Carey / viola
Anton Lukoszevieze / cello

Apartment House was created by the cellist Anton Lukoszevieze in 1995. Under his Direction it has become a venerable exponent of avant-garde and experimental music from around the World. Apartment House’s performances have included many UK and World premieres of music by a wide variety of composers. In the past 3 years Apartment House has been notable for its sell-out John Cage concert at the Queen Elizabeth Hall, as the opening concert in the International Chamber Music Series and its continual presentation of some of the most radical music of our time.


"... to many, this is one of the holy grails of minimalism in music in the 20th century ; it’s certainly a piece that should be talked about a hell of a lot more than it is (perhaps its rigorous adherence to a largely a-tonal / temporal / morphous form keeps it locked far away from the “palatable”minimalism of glass / reich / riley et.al) ... either way, it’s a heavy piece that’s powerfully trance-inducing ; one’s emergence from which always shapes everyday realities in an unsettling way …" - Keith Fullerton Whitman

HARLEY GABER (1943-2011)
The Winds Rise in the North for amplified string quintet

"The music, inspired by Chaung Tzu is an expression of the highest level of Art: It is an expression of reconcilliation and balance, the Tao made audible, and worthy of the highest and mosst humble praise" - Michael Cooper, Ear Magazine

Harley Gaber was an experimental composer from the USA. The Winds Rise in the North was composed in the Winter of 1973/74 and revised a year later. It is a monumental work, in duration and intensity of expression, lasting some 90-100 minutes and is in 4 parts. Scored for a quintet of 3 violins, viola and cello, the instruments are amplified and much of the music is performed sul ponticello (on or near the bridge of the instruments) creating a richly incandescent web of overtones and harmonics. Gaber wrote that the piece ‘exists as a tipping point into the interior World of musical sound where only a vague patina of music and musical structures as we commonly think of it and them, remain. It is not a slowed down, protracted conventional musical structure, nor is it really a form of drone music. It moves more directionally than most music of that genre. It was at its inception modeled after my perception of Nature’s ‘natural’ process of evolvement, movement and cyclical change seen simultaneously from a micro and macro vantage point.’